UHR

Designated Holidays

 

Holiday

2014 Date

2015 Date

New Year's Day

Wednesday, January 1

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day 

Monday, January 20

Monday, January 19

Presidents' Day

Monday, February 17

Monday, February 16

Memorial Day

Monday, May 26

Monday, May 25

Independence Day

Friday, July 4

Friday, July 3

Labor Day

Monday, September 1

Monday, September 7

Thanksgiving Holiday

Thursday, November 27
Friday, November 28

Thursday, November 26
Friday, November 27

Winter Holiday

Wednesday, December 24
Thursday, December 25

Thursday, December 24
Friday, December 25

Winter Closure*

Monday, December 22, 2014
– Friday, January 2, 2015
To be determined and announced
in spring 2015.

Floating Holiday

Date mutually agreed upon between employee and supervisor. 

View 2014 & 2015 Holidays PDF version

*Employees in operational units that observe winter closure will receive holiday pay for holidays that fall during the closure, and may use available PTO, floating holiday, accrued vacation, unpaid time off, or any combination of these, on the remaining closure days.

Eligibility for Paid Holidays

You are eligible for paid holidays beginning on your first day of employment if you are normally scheduled to work 20 or more hours per week (50% or more of regular full‐time employment, also known as FTE).

Floating Holiday

A floating holiday is available to all regular employees January 1 of the calendar year and can be taken any time within that calendar year, with supervisory approval.

Holiday Pay Policy

For Stanford’s policy on paid holidays, please refer to Administrative Guide Memo 2.1.13.

Note:

Temporary and casual employees are not eligible for paid holidays or a floating holiday.